Bad Momma duck lol

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by MommaDuck78, Nov 14, 2019.

1. MommaDuck78

MommaDuck78 Chirping

Nov 12, 2019
    So my first pair of ducks ever is a set of beautiful muscovies. I believe they are called violet muscovies? She has the Violet coloring on her chest and in her tail feathers and he has the coloring and his tail feathers plus the stunning White. They have the best personalities. My Daisy duck laid her first egg on Veteran's Day and that was very special to me considering I am a Veteran. ❤️ I was so excited! Well she's been laying one egg everyday now except for today. Yesterday I got the advice to leave at least one or two eggs in her nest so she doesn't move her nest on me. At night time they live in a crate that I built them with a drawbridge door that gets shot and she's been laying her eggs in the morning before I let her out. Sometimes chickens go in and out of their house during the day because their door stays open and it is inside the chicken coop. So after her third egg was laid I got a little worried about them getting broken. I did plan on seeing if she would sit on them but I didn't want her to sit on the entire bunch I wanted some of the duck eggs for myself. So it's difficult because they don't sit on them until they're all laid so more chance of them getting broken is what I've read so far correct me if I'm wrong please. Lol Unfortunately I'm a bad mama duck and I'm still learning cuz I washed her three eggs before I got the advice to leave one in there and this morning she is holding her egg! the first picture I posted is of her this morning and how round she is with that egg in there still LOL Duke is being very protective of her getting in between her and I. I think he's mad I took the eggs too. I am almost done building them a lot bigger duck house just for them. I took three big crates and put them together. Then did a bunch of piece work. She will have a nesting shelf with a privacy wall. The new duck house is en