Bagging up Peacock for travel

old biddy

Crowing
12 Years
Sep 30, 2010
Lamont, Florida
I have sold my 3 year old Peacock, Mozart. Hooray! I have agreed to meet the buyer half way since she lives so far away which will mean
I will drive about 2 1/2 hours and transfer him to her and the cages that she brings for him. I don't want any mishaps of having him escape
during the transfer from my cage to hers (since we will be outdoors somewhere in the open) so I thought I might try the bagging technique
to keep him secure. I've never done it before. I've read about it and talked about it before on this forum...but I am a bit nervous about
actually doing it.

Question: If I use a cleaned out feed bag with a corner cut out for his head..and secure his feet with masking tape...and secure the open end
of the bag with tape as well...should he be safe and sound? Will he be really uncomfortable? Is it treating him cruelly or will he be just fine???

Any experience in doing this? Any suggestions or advice will be sooooo appreciated!

Keep the hole for the head small.
IMG_0784.JPG

A pillowcase is more likely to tear than a paper feed bag. I wouldn't use the plastic feed bags because they do not breathe or let moisture pass through making the birds hot, be sure to use paper. We do not tape the legs, we just wrap the bag around them and either tape or wire the bag around the legs and ahead of the chest making a carrying handle. Here is another example.
1626583179795.png
1626583179795.png

I wasn't trying to be a smart alec and def. no apology needed...I really am glad to see this info. again.
I recently needed to move some this way and... since I had done it before years ago but also suffer from CRS was glad to find the info here from last year ( recently before this similar thread showed up again) in order to get it right, lol.
Have BOTH threads bookmarked now !
It worked well...do appreciate the q and a on this subject here and the pics. are great !