Balding Belly

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by JFKHomestead, Jun 28, 2016.

1. JFKHomestead

JFKHomestead New Egg

Aug 2, 2014
    Hello BYC, I'm Karen Forbes from Cowden, Il I have had chickens for 2 years now and noticed that one of my girls is balding on her belly , she has no mites or lice that I can see , but moved her to a separate pen in garage to keep her from others...she has not been laying eggs but every 10 days i'll get 1 ..What is wrong with my girl..I'm new to this so please HELP

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi Karen and welcome to BYC. Do you think that she may be broody? Is she eating, drinking normally? Is her behaviour normal?

Ct

3. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome Karen

Glad you could join us here! I too agree that this could be a sign of her becoming/preparing to be broody. If not could any of her flock mates be feather pecking her? Where is she in the pecking order?

Good luck with her and enjoy BYC :frow

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    sounds like she wants to brood, do you have a fertile egg from any other hen, you could put under her to see?

5. JFKHomestead

JFKHomestead New Egg

Aug 2, 2014
    Not sure what broody is , she is not with the others i separated he, r she was last in line for pecking order\er, she has no feathers in bottom of pen, eats and drinks normal. I have had her alone for about 3 weeks now and no change in her condition

6. JFKHomestead

JFKHomestead New Egg

Aug 2, 2014
    I can put an egg under her from others today if need be,what does this do ?

7. Shaunassy

Shaunassy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2016
    Fl