bang for the buck!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by coo coo cachoo, Nov 18, 2010.

1. coo coo cachoo

coo coo cachoo Out Of The Brooder

Nov 14, 2010
    can u build a better incubator than a pre made one for the money.
    i am new to hatching chickens.but i have been researching for a couple of weeks. and i cant decide wether i can build a better quality incubator for the price of a sore bought one. for me the incubator must be cabable of producing a minimum of 80% hatch rate and be fully automatic( except maybe humidity). and must be able to do all or most sizes of eggs . quail up to ostrich.
    i think that a incubator with a wafer thermostat would not be accurate enough. and i believe for high % yield it needs to be accurate to with in a degree or better. and it needs to have a turner for bests results.
    can a small refrigerator an egg turner and a quality temperture controler such as this. http://cgi.ebay.com/New-DIN-Digital...028?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4aa5c7ed94
    or this
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330469616863&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT
    be better than say a hovabator genesis? http://cgi.ebay.com/HovaBator-Genesis-Egg-Incubator-1588-Turner-Chicken-/330447316330?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4cf031e56a

or
    do pre made units have some advantage of being super accurate or a small incubater is best for heat retention. i dont know. anyone have any sugestions.

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 18, 2010
  2. MMPoultryFarms

MMPoultryFarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 21, 2010
    Okarche Oklahoma
    I bought a scrapped incubator that was made out of recycled wood for 50 bucks after I tested it I unplugged my industrial bator and all I am currently using is the wood bator. So I would say yes if its built right it can be alot better. I also Built a bator with a small freezer as well it works nicely.

3. rebel yell

rebel yell Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2010
    Alabama