1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Bantam Attacks

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by A Lucky Ladybug, Mar 17, 2015.

1. A Lucky Ladybug

A Lucky Ladybug Out Of The Brooder

Mar 8, 2015
    All 9 of my chicks have been in the same container since a few days old. They are now around 20 days old and my two bantams are starting to fight a LOT. The one is pecking the crap out of the other for no apparent reason. Why? How do I fix this? Does this mean she is a he? They rest are playing here and there but this one seems like a bully. These are my first chicks so I am very new to it all.

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    How large is the container: It sounds as if they may need more space.

3. A Lucky Ladybug

Mar 8, 2015
    I was actually thinking about moving them into a (rabbit hutch) tonight that we have but they are in a big rubbermaid container. I was afraid to move them outside just yet with the weather even though they seem more than ready to get out and explore/forage.

4. A Lucky Ladybug

Mar 8, 2015
    I just separated him or her and they are very clearly not happy with me, the noise level just tripled

5. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    9 chicks 20 weeks old sounds like too tight a fit for a tub - they grow amazingly fast. Crowding leads to behavior like picking. Can you supply heat in the hutch? Is it substantially bigger than their current housing?

6. A Lucky Ladybug

Mar 8, 2015