Bantam chick hatch

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by purewellspring, Jan 5, 2013.

1. purewellspring

purewellspring Out Of The Brooder

Nov 5, 2012
    This is my first attempt at incubating chicks. A friend found a source for local Black Copper Marans, and the breeder also raises bantams, my particular favorite. 40 banty eggs in the Hovabator tonight at 10:15. Yikes! I'm excited, but trying not to get my hopes up. My friend just finished hatching her mix from this same breeder, 5 out of 18 hatched. It was her first run with the Hova, so I think we're still working out some tweaks. I think the temp gauge is a little off, for one thing. I ran to Wally world and bought an accurite thermometer and hygrometer (the cheap one, but at least it's something) and a basic mercury thermometer, just to compare. And both thermometer are registering a couple of degrees below the Hova temp gauge.

Any experience with bantams in the Hovabator? Anything I should know? Pretty clueless at this point except for everything I've read on here! :) Hence the extra temp/hygrometer tools. :)

Wish me luck!! If nothing else, we'll call it science class for the month. :)

2. gabrielle1976

gabrielle1976 Overrun With Chickens

Feb 21, 2009
    Columbia river gorge
    [​IMG]

You can do it . Try to keep the room temp the bator is in steady even if that means you are some times to warm or to cold , Make sure to avoid direct sunlight on the bator.
    Dont forget they need turned so if you dont have a turner mark them and turn 3 times a day.
    Only candle day10 and day 18 (lock down) if you can control your self , the less you handle them the better for the eggs. Remmber to wash your hands befor you touch them , no lotions ect .
    Read read read.
    Humidity 35-40% till day 18 . 65%-75% for 18-21
    Read some more.
    And enjoy , dont stress hatching can be so much fun.