bantam cochin or white wyandotte for the newbie?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by egglicious, Jun 12, 2011.

1. egglicious

egglicious Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2011
    I have banty chicks coming and ordered two cochins among them, one frizzled... but now i've kinda got my eye on the white wyandotte banties since I did want something that lays decent (I know banties don't lay as well as LF)... but I also really like the friendly reputation of the cochin especially since I am a newbie.. ugh! I'm confused. Can those experienced with the two breeds please chime in? I am lousy when it comes to choosing chickens because I want them ALL, but alas, I can only have a few so I need to choose carefully. Thanks in advance!

2. WyandotteTX

WyandotteTX Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 10, 2010
    If you want something friendly, pick the Cochin. IF you want a few more eggs and birds that will breed more easily then pic Wyandottes. I have raised both and loved both for their own different attributes. Some Wyandotte bantams will not be so friendly at times either....just depends on the strain and how much you fool with them growing up. Cochins will almost always be friendly, they will be around your feet like a cat or dog. They love to be picked up, etc....have had many that would hop up on your knee if you sat down and sing to me....
    Hope this helps...

3. okieinalaska

okieinalaska Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2009
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Get a few of each. Seriously. Chicken math works. : )

I sold all of my chicks (silver lacyed wyandottes included) but still have my near point of lay gold laced bantam cochins and just love those girls to death. When it comes time to move we are going to really cry when we have to part with them. If I didn't already have to fly 2 chihuahuas, 2 parakeets and 1 cockatiel to OK from Alaska I would sure try to figure out how to get them there.