Bantam Cochin questions

Aamanda

Chirping
6 Years
Aug 29, 2013
Linn Creek, MO
Ok so I posted this in a different area but kinda got past up. So ill try it here.

Im so glad I found this thread!!!! Im a bantam Cochiin Newb. I got some bantam Cochin that were hatched locally on Aug 20th. I got them mostly so they could sit eggs for me. But fell in love with them! They are so sweet (for the most part lol) But other than broodiness I have little knowledge on them. I got 12 and think I have 8 cockerels. I keep in touch with the breeder and she says that some I think are boys might be girls. But I don't understand. I have four with teeny tiny combs and 8 with big ones. As much as I like them I have to get rid of the Cochin boys. .Some of them are only 1/3 of the size of the others? I have a few pics and can take some tomorrow but would really like to understand comb development and the dif in size. Any help is much appreciated!

Breeder says this is a hen

Roo for sure lol. He already crows. Is that normal for this age?

Same roo in the background. This guy is TINY!

Breeder says this is a hen.

Breeder says maybe a hen

Better pic of above "hen"

Let me know what you think. I know that two have large combs but hen bodies. Also any idea on why such a size differ. I will try to get some pics side by side if you need.

How sure are you on ages? If they indeed all hatched Aug 20 they're only 10 weeks old, and they look much older than that to me, from the pics I'm thinking 4 or 5 months at least. If the age you give is correct, then all those birds are male--that much comb at that age is male, especially in a slow developing breed like cochins.

If I'm correct and they're older, is my thinking----
first bird is a hen
second bird is a rooster
third bird looks like a hen, not as positive as the first bird.