Bantams in CA

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by trahana, Jan 2, 2017.

1. trahana

trahana New Egg

Jan 2, 2017
    Hey there! I'm trahana, I've been raising chickens for about four years now, with a current flock of 5 bantam hens. I'm from the central coastal california, and currently live in a neighborhood that doesn't allow chickens. But, this spring there will be a vote taken to allow the keeping of a small flock of hens per household, woohoo! Hope it goes through without a hitch, there are three others that have also have 'illegal' flocks.
    We have two Mille Fleur, they are show quality and act like it. They don't shuffle in the dirt to find bugs, but instead stand next to another chicken and steal what they dig up. Gwynevere, one of the Mille Fleur makes sounds like a goose, and occasionally crows like a broken rooster(still a hen, as she lays eggs and goes broody too).
    Surama-bird is a Vorwerk, the little feral-esque chicken that cries blood murder when you catch her. We had a second, but lost her recently.
    The head honchos of the flock are the two Belgian d' Anver hens, Thor and Odin. Thor thinks I'm a threatening chicken, so she struts and fluffs when I get close, and if I lean down, will fly up to box my head. This, of course, is totally hilarious to me and the family. Thor doesn't treat any other person this way, and loves following my mom around begging for scratch. Despite Thor being bossy, Odin is the leader of the flock, always finding the best bugs and slugs for the rest of the flock.

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    [​IMG] Good luck at going 'legal'.

3. LauraBrown

LauraBrown Chillin' With My Peeps

Welcome to BYC!

4. MasterOfClucker

MasterOfClucker Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2016
    Iowa
    Welcome to BYC![​IMG]

5. SilkiesForEver

SilkiesForEver Overrun With Chickens

Mar 24, 2012
    Sacramento, CA
    Welcome from Northern CA! [​IMG]

6. redsoxs