Bantams

nickmancity

In the Brooder
7 Years
Sep 29, 2012
Hi, im just about to buy some 4 week old bantams , i do want them as egg layers and kids friendly as i have 5 kids , ive been told Bantams are ideal for me , is this right ?.....and should i get 3 or 5 .....also if they dont lay too well can i mix them with any other breed ......thanks ,

should have said i live in Perth Oz so will the climate be good for them too.......also im a complete novice so any help /advice would be good , thanks

someone must know ,or are we all novices on here .......? ive also been offered 3 week old sussex cross chickens , can anyone tell me if these are a goos chicken to have for eggs and around children.......thanks

I really like my speckled sussex. I have two and they are both very nice and lay large eggs. I have a few bantams, two are silkies (showgirls) and they are very nice, and lay lots of small eggs. They're both extremely broody. I also have an old english game bantam rooster, he's very kind also, but alot more flighty than my bigger roosters. I hope that helps. I think it comes down to coop sixe and desired omelet size. I have plenty of space so I have both large breeds and small.

I have LF and Bantams together with few problems. I do have a spot that only Bantams can get into- so that helps :eek:) I have Cornish Bantams, Phoenix and Dutch Bantams. My Dutch hens are very good layers and eggs are bigger than one would think such a small bird could lay.