Banties Hatched from Eggs - No Idea of Breed or Gender

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by ashsmith, Jun 8, 2010.

1. ashsmith

ashsmith Out Of The Brooder

Jun 8, 2010
    I have 4 month-old banties that were hatched from eggs (puchased from Ideal Poultry) at my school. Any feedback would be appreciated since I am new to chickens and have no idea about which breed or gender they are.

Chick # 1: It was a cute little yellow fluffball as a day-old hatchling. Now it is a month old, off-white chick. It does not appear to have much comb development. Breed? Gender?

[​IMG]

Chick # 2: It was a mainly black hatchling with some white on its underside. It has shiny, black feathers now that seem to have a greenish, purplish sheen in the light. Slight comb development.
    Breed? Gender?
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Chick # 3: It was a light ginger hatchling. Now has darker red feathers. Very shiny. Slight comb development. Breed? Gender?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Chick # 4: This one looked like a little chipmunk when it hatched. I'm pretty sure it is a rooster because its comb is MUCH more developed than the other month-old banties. Its comb is also starting to acquire a reddish hue. Breed? Gender?

[​IMG]

Again, I would greatly appreciate any ideas any of your may have as to the breed and gender of these chicks. I have never kept chickens before and, despite reading numerous chicken books in the past couple weeks, cannot figure out their breeds and genders. (I think chick 2 might be a black australorp, and I think chick 4 is a roo, but I'm not sure.) They were 1 month old on May 6.

Thanks in advance for any feedback you can give :)

2. Cats Critters

Cats Critters Completely Indecisive

Here are my guesses:

#1 Easter Egger Girl
    #2 Black australorp ?
    #3 Rhode Island Red or maybe a New Hampshire Red ?
    #4 ? Roo

3. Iluvmypeeps

Iluvmypeeps Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Arizona
    1. Easter Egger, hen
    2. Australorp, Roo