Bare Spot - why?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by whudson, Jan 5, 2009.

1. whudson

whudson Out Of The Brooder

Jan 5, 2009
    I'm brand new to chickens. We got four 18 month olds from a local.

He said one didn't grow all her feathers back after molting, but I would like a second opinion.

She is the smallest of the bunch, and seems to be bottom on pecking order.
    She is also timid at treat time. The others will gather around take hand outs, but she will just stand back and watch like an outsider.

Any opinions?

[​IMG]

2. CovenantCreek

CovenantCreek Chicks Rule!

Oct 19, 2007
    Franklin, TN
    I've got one like that -- she sleeps next to the roo every night, so I blame him. I think it's not uncommon for this to happen if a roo is a little too rough on a hen.

3. tonini3059

tonini3059 [IMG]emojione/assets/png/2665.png?v=2.2.7[/IMG]Luv

Nov 6, 2008
    Southwestern PA
    We had quite a few like that from our rooster!! They sell chicken saddles you can cover them with. Moodene sells some in the Everything else BST section.

4. gumpsgirl

gumpsgirl Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Mar 25, 2008
    Virginia
    Yep! It's the roo that's doing it. A chicken saddle will protect her back. Farmer Kitty has a pattern listed to make one.

5. KELLEY1

KELLEY1 New Egg

Dec 28, 2008
    I am new to my chickens too,but have learned some just from watching them! I have 11 hens and a roo! Before my roo(Rocky) arrived my hens had bald spots on thier backs.I saw them pulling feathers from each other and eating them! Strange I thought,but what do I know! I imagine the moult will start soon...hope so!

6. chazcarly

chazcarly New Egg

Jan 4, 2009
    i have 3 reds and 6 black speckleds and all are hens and the reds are doing it to the other hens the same way. dose anybody know what to do?

please help:([​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 5, 2009
  7. gumpsgirl

gumpsgirl Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Mar 25, 2008
    Virginia