BARNEVELDER CHICKS GENDER help please

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by chickypets, Sep 24, 2011.

1. chickypets

chickypets Out Of The Brooder

Sep 24, 2011
    Hi
    I have just hatched with the help of my very broody White sussex hen two Barnevelder chicks that I got as fertile eggs. Mummy Hen is soooooo proud and excited. I would love to know if anyone could sex them for me. They are only 5 days old. So let me know if this is too early. I have included photos of beaks and wings. There is one yellow one and one browner one. They are so cute and it is such a treat to have them. Thanks!!!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

first pic is proud mama
    2-4 yellow chick
    4-6 brown chick

Last edited: Sep 24, 2011
  2. laceynoelle

laceynoelle Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 12, 2009
    Reno
    Well, its too early. [​IMG]

3. chickypets

Sep 24, 2011
    thanks. i'm really new to this so what age can you usually tell?

4. silky_3699

silky_3699 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 15, 2011
    My Own Realm!!!
    Quote:usually you can tell when they are about 6 weeks.

5. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    You can generally sex barnevelders at hatch by their chest color. It's not 100% but it's a good estimate. Boys have white chests and girls have taupe chests.

But I hate to be the bearer of bad news - those aren't barnevelder chicks, at least not pure barnevelders. Here's what pure barnevelders look like.
    [​IMG]

Ignore the mottled java's here:
    [​IMG]

6. chickypets

Sep 24, 2011
    thanks for your help. Ill wait a few weeks. The lady I bought the eggs off also had araucana and welsummer so even tho she sold them as Barnevelder may have been a cross breed. Thanks. I love them anyway. May post more photos at the six week mark if I stil l cant tell. [​IMG]