Barred Plymouth Rock Tips

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by BMW the Awesome, Feb 11, 2014.

1. BMW the Awesome

BMW the Awesome Out Of The Brooder

Dec 7, 2013
    I am getting 4 Plymouth rock chicks on Monday. I was wondering if anyone had any tips for me, as this is my first time raising chicks.

2. LilRedRoo

LilRedRoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2013
    Bremond, Texas
    Just keep them warm in a brooder since there are not enough of them to really keep each other warm, and keep the food and water clean. They are a pretty breed, and I hope you enjoy having them around. They are generally well suited for free ranging if they have plenty of cover and a solid coop for safety, but can tolerate confinement as well.

3. Messipaw

Messipaw Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2013
    I have two barred Plymouth rocks. They are almost a year and a half. They are awesome birds. Cold hearty. Friendly. And getting big. They love to free range and perch high. They are also great solid layers. I love them. Good luck.

4. slatts

slatts Out Of The Brooder

Aug 13, 2013
    I have two BR and they are my favorite. I'm not really into the pet aspect of chickens but have to say they are the friendliest. Not my best egg layers though.

5. Cacique500

Cacique500 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 2, 2013
    Atlanta, Georgia
    We handled ours a lot when they were little and still do...they're very friendly now. Treats in your hand (or crumble) lets them know your hand isn't a big scary thing, it's a good thing that gives them treats.

6. BMW the Awesome

BMW the Awesome Out Of The Brooder

Dec 7, 2013
    If I keep the chicks inside, how long do I have to have the heat lamp on them. Do I have to keep the heat lamp on them 24/7?
    Also what should I use for bedding. How long do BRs take to start laying. Thank you for the replies.

7. ZenGopher

ZenGopher New Egg

Jun 17, 2013
    West Michigan