Barred Rocks taking longer to feather?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by chickiepie, Apr 4, 2011.

1. chickiepie

chickiepie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2011
    Bucks County PA
    I have 5 chicks, two of which are barred rocks. The others are an EE, RIR and a Delaware. We were told the EE is a week older than the rest, and you can tell. Its huge and has a ton of feathers. While all the chicks are growing and feathering, the barred rocks have considerably less feathers than the others. The have just a few tiny rows of feathers on the edges of their wings so far. Is this normal to the breed or what? This is my first time with chicks so I really don't have a clue what to expect in this regard. Thanks!

2. allpeepedout

allpeepedout Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 2, 2011
    Southern Indiana
    I got 3 BR and 4 EE old from Townline hatchery (2 days old I think) and saw similar rate of feathering, except BR roo was later with tail feathers. His wing feathers if anything were ahead of others. I think even a day or two difference in age makes a visible difference in development, or perhaps strains from different hatcheries develop differently?

3. palmtreemama

palmtreemama New Egg

Jan 9, 2011
    I have 2 Partridge Rocks. I feel like they are smaller and feathering @ a slower rate than my RIR's and SLW. Although they are still adorable. Still a little fuzzyness left!!!! It is dissapearing at an alarming rate. They are only 2 weeks old!!!!

4. hennyannie

hennyannie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2011
    North Carolina
    My BR pullets feathered very fast but I do remember last years roo was a bit slower.

5. chickiepie

chickiepie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2011
    Bucks County PA
    Well I sure hope they aren't roosters because I ordered pullets!! 2 out of 5 would be a very bad success rate. I wish I knew exactly how old they are because that might shed some light on the situation but there would be no way to know for sure.