1. Troubadour05

Troubadour05 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 13, 2014
    Greenfield, NH
    Hello! So I am working on my silkie and sizzle breeding projects, and one of my hens took off and came back with 11 chicks. I am very new to chicken breeding and genetics, but this one puzzled me... The hen is a paint frizzled silkie, and the two roosters she was in contact with are a patridge silkie, and a 1st generation sizzle, though he looks more like his cochin parent. Out of the chicks, all are frizzled except 2 are smooth. There are lots of black, a couple paints, but there is also 2 light buff colored chicks, and one light barred chick.... I'll post pictures from my phone in a minute, where the heck did this come from?? I've read barred is a sex-linked gene, and that the father must pass it down..? If this is correct I am confused because neither rooster is barred, and I know the silkie roo does not carry any barring. Is it possible that one of the other two have passed it along? I am not sure about either of their backgrounds.

2. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Hello and welcome!
    A couple of thoughts as I read through your post. On the issue of barring and sex linkage - in a sex linked cross using barring, the barred bird used is the female and the barring is passed to male offspring. Which would lead to my next question of - what other hens are in your flock? I think the fatal flaw in your attempt to sort out the father of the brood is you seem to be assuming all of the chicks hatched from eggs laid by the female in question. In a flock situation, it is quite common for a broody to wind up on a clutch of eggs that have been laid by multiple hens - so you are working not only with more than one potential father, but multiple potential mothers for each chick.

3. Troubadour05

Oct 13, 2014
    Greenfield, NH