Basic information about chickens?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Sandbellie, Dec 27, 2010.

1. Sandbellie

Sandbellie Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 21, 2009
    New Hampshire
    Hey all. I know some stuff about chickens, but I'm just getting into the world of knowing all the important stuff you should know if you actually own chickens.

I have read online articles, but there seems to be some pretty smart people here!

I have a few questions, but other than that, if you could just explain away... that would be great! Just a summary, or quick paragraph if you like. Or something longer. Your choice. Details make everything better, too!

Questions-

What is a pullet?
    How old are hens when they start laying?
    When do chickens start growing their adult feathers?
    Are there any fancy names for different chickens, like a young female, a layer, a roo, a young roo, ect?
    What are some known major chicken diseases?
    Any popular breeds?

And anything else you wanna add in!

Thanks!! [​IMG]

2. CMV

CMV Flock Mistress

Apr 15, 2009
    What is a pullet? A hen less than 1 y.o.
    How old are hens when they start laying? 17-40 weeks old (usually) depending on breed.
    When do chickens start growing their adult feathers? As soon as they hatch. They finish growing in all the feathers (fully fledged)at about 6 weeks old.
    Are there any fancy names for different chickens, like a young female, a layer, a roo, a young roo, ect? Young female is a pullet. Female greater than 1 y.o. is a hen. Young male is a cockerel. Male greater than 1 y.o. is a rooster. Fixed males are capons. Females obsessed with hatching babies are broodies. Meat birds have all sorts of fancy names.
    What are some known major chicken diseases? Here's a list: http://www.thepoultrysite.com/diseaseinfo/
    Any popular breeds? Here's another link: http://www.ithaca.edu/staff/jhenderson/chooks/chooks.html

Hope that helped.

3. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed