bator questions

Discussion in 'Quail' started by jimmythechicken, Aug 21, 2010.

1. jimmythechicken

jimmythechicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 8, 2010
    mansfield
    me an the kids are going to be starting our quail eggs in our lg 9200 right now i have the temp at 100.8 an humidity is 38 is this good or should i get the humiidty up an how do you do that add water to bottom i have one of the red caps taken out to start them an will remove the other one in lockdown.this is our first time so any help will do.thanks jim

2. neb

neb Out Of The Brooder

Jul 11, 2010
    South Africa
    Hi Jim

I am also new at this, but from what I have learned, the humidity should be +-50% until day 14, and then up it to +-60%. So you can increase the humidity by placing some more water dishes in the bottom, or wet sponges or paper towels etc. The temperature looks good [​IMG]. Good luck and [​IMG]

Post pics of the chicks [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

Neb

3. JJMR794

JJMR794 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2009
    BROOKSVILLE FL
    Remove All Caps, Temp Is Ok, 100.5 Is Considered Ideal For Still Air Models, Overcooking The Eggs Will Cause A Staggered Hatch With Many Being Either Early And/or Late. Ideal Humidity Is Between 45-55% During Incubation, For The Final 3 Day Lockdown At Least 60-70% And I Recommend Hatching Eggs In The Upright Position In Cartons Or Crates Of Some Sort As This Will Increase Your Hatch Rate And Allows For Even Higher Humidity When Eggs Are Up Right So You Can Run 75+% Remember The More Humidity At Hatch The Eggshell Will Be Softer And Allow Pipping And Hatch To Happen Easier For The Chicks.