BBS Thread

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by PepsNick, Dec 5, 2010.

1. PepsNick

PepsNick Back to Business

May 9, 2010
    Egglanta, GA
    I am new to the BBS and have recently gotten interested in them. I think that there should be a thread to post pictures and discuss our BBS. Anybody in?

I currently own no BBS chickens, but will hopefully (fingers crossed!) order some Blue Ameraucana hatching eggs the week of December 20th. I would also like a splash orpington pullet this Spring, maybe. Then two more blue ameraucana pullets in the Spring to go with my new flock, and one more big hatch of EE and Ameraucana (including blue) in June. What BBS do are you raising?

2. CityGirlintheCountry

CityGirlintheCountry Green Eggs and Hamlet

Jul 7, 2007
    Middle TN
    I have BBS ameraucanas. I love that every hatch is a big surprise about what will come out. It is so much more fun that way!

Here are two from the last hatch-
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    I raise BBS Jersey Giants, Ameraucanas, and Araucanas. However I honestly have so many BBS birds in my flock I'm getting a little tired of the black, grey, white scene. . .

One thing I do find neat is the variations, which are interestingly genetic.

Dark blue Ameraucana

[​IMG]

Light blue Jersey Giant

[​IMG]

Light splash Jersey Giant

[​IMG]

"perfect" splash Araucana

[​IMG]

4. CityGirlintheCountry

Jul 7, 2007
    Middle TN
    Wow, Illia! That last splash is just gorgeous! [​IMG]

That is one of the reasons I stay with the BBS line. I do love a good splash.
    I find the black hens kind of boring, but my black roosters are stinking GORGEOUS! They all have this incredible green iridescence that is stunning in the sunlight. Love it!

The blues are fun because of all the possible shades of blue. You are right- it is an really interesting genetic experiment. [​IMG]

5. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA