BCM pretty roos *pictures*

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Country Marans, Sep 9, 2016.

1. Country Marans

Country Marans Out Of The Brooder

Feb 15, 2016
    Missouri
    [​IMG]

I found these roosters for sale and I'm just drooling over them for my new hatch of pullets. Problem is, I'm a newbie at this. and would like a second opinion before making any final decisions. Are these really good for breeding? They have really nice combs, tails, and look nice and beefy, but what about the color genetics? I don't have a picture of eggs to go by, so.... [​IMG] Any ideas? Are the hackles too yellow?

Last edited: Sep 9, 2016
  2. spoikey

spoikey Out Of The Brooder

Jul 31, 2012
    I would be more concerned about their personality. You don't want an aggressive rooster.

3. Country Marans

Feb 15, 2016
    Missouri
    That is a very good point.
    They're coming from a breeder. I guess they could be culls (aesthetic or otherwise) for him/her, but it sounded more like excess roosters. They were posted as 'friendly,' and 'show quality.' If I decide to get them, I will be driving up there and hand -picking, so...?

4. Country Marans

Feb 15, 2016
    Missouri
    Any other helpful suggestions? :)

5. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    There is only one Black Copper Marans in the photo. If the bird is free (one way I get rid of excess cockerels as I don't eat them all) then you are getting a nice bird that pleases you visually. If they are charging money then pull up a copy of SOP on Black Copper Marans and read through it carefully. If your buying "show quality" they should be show quality.