Beginner breeds?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by byrdman03, Sep 29, 2011.

1. byrdman03

byrdman03 New Egg

Sep 21, 2011
    I am new to this whole keeping chickens thing and wondered if anyone had suggestions as to what it a good breed for beginners?
    I need a layer who is easy to handle and hardy to disease. I am in the beginning stages doing research on chickens and can't decide. Any ideas?

2. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    Anything from a hatchery or feedstore that is popular, really.

Sex-Links, Easter Eggers (falsely sold as Ameraucanas though) Barred Rocks, Buff Orpingtons, Cochins, Production Reds, Black Australorps, Wyandottes,. . .

3. sjarvis00

sjarvis00 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2009
    Shawnee, OKlahoma
    Quote:if you are looking for egg layers only and not seeking to breed or show then the assorted sex-links out there from the hatcheries will do you well. You do not need a rooster for eating eggs only for hatching eggs. Keep in mind the sex-links are a cross and will not reproduce themselves.
    If you are wanting to be able to repoduce a breed for yourself and still only want eggs leghorns are a good choice, but they are small so preparing the extra cockrells for a meal can be more trouble than it's worth.
    There are many good options out there based on what your real desires are.

4. chickymomma68

chickymomma68 Out Of The Brooder

May 23, 2011
    Gahanna,OH
    If you have harsh winters, you should consider this in your choices. I have Dominiques, but something with a Rose comb for frostbite prevention should be on your short list. Some breeds do better in heat and others in cold. Dominiques fair well in both and are dependable winter layers. They do prefer to forage so they have free run of the backyard for a few hours a day at least. Good luck and enjoy! I love mine!

5. DirtCreature

DirtCreature Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 8, 2011
    Olympia, Washington