Beginner needs help - chickens panic and Rooster gets protective

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by kprhok, May 5, 2009.

1. kprhok

kprhok Out Of The Brooder

Feb 18, 2009
    As a beginner, I recently purchased 9 buff orphingtons and a huge dominique rooster from someone who was giving up their chickens to do other things. I've been very pleased at how calm and happy they all seem to be, and the rooster watches over them as if they were each very special.

I just tried to check one of them for mites by isolating her in the coop but she started screeming and the rooster (outside) became very protective, trying to get into the coop.

My question: How do others on this discussion board catch their chickens, and rooster if necessary, in order to inspect them for mites?

I have tried to quietly move in and coax them into allowing me to handle them but it doesn't work.

Should I simply go out there, throw a net over each one and inspect them as needed regardless of how much they scream or is there a less stressful way (for me and the chickens) to catch and manage a chicken when you need to check them for mites or other problems?

Like many on this website, I want them to enjoy having me around, and not be in alarm mode every time I walk out to their pen. I really felt bad after getting them so upset, but I don't know of other options when it comes to catching a chicken.

Last edited: May 5, 2009
  2. aidenbaby

aidenbaby Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2009
    Lochbuie
    I'd try hand feeding them a bunch without trying to catch them so that they will get used to you. Then, work up to holding them. But that could take a while to teach them that you aren't going to kill them (at the moment anyway). If there was one you were particularly concerned about, that would be the only one I'd just grab to handle. That whole being sneaky business just tells them that you are a predator.

I'm no pro but that is what I'd do.

3. ivan3

ivan3 spurredon Premium Member