Beginner question--boys from the girls?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by tuskajones, May 18, 2008.

1. tuskajones

tuskajones Out Of The Brooder

Dec 18, 2007
    Sewickley, PA
    Besides vent sexing, how do you tell the males from the females in cornish x? Mine are 5 weeks old today. I ordered all roos but something tells me I have quite a few females in there.......??????

2. chicknhawaii

chicknhawaii Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2008
    Honolulu, HI
    Being a total newbie with chickens, I just thought I'd post. [​IMG]

I could tell she was a hen from about 3 weeks or so. She got a comb REALLY early, but it's remained small and light-colored. She also just "acts" like a hen, walks around without displaying any aggression or dominant tendencies.

That's not too scientific but that's how I knew and was very relieved we had a hen. [​IMG]

Maybe if you posted pics, we could help [​IMG]

Edit: just wanted to mention she's a pet, not a meat chick

Last edited: May 18, 2008
  3. willheveland

willheveland Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 29, 2008
    southern tier,NY
    These were about 8 weeks.Look at their heads and see if you can tell the guys from the gals. Will
    p.s.still want to see the tractor
    [​IMG]

4. lilcountry

lilcountry Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2008
    Benson, NC
    I think the ones with the smaller combs are females, b/c you have several with large rooster combs, those w/o are possibly females if they are all the same age.

5. redneck

redneck Chillin' With My Peeps

May 25, 2007
    Lynchburg,Tn.
    If they are all the same age and unless I missed one that is visible in the photo, I counted 13 roo's

6. tuskajones

Dec 18, 2007
    Sewickley, PA
    Weeeelll I'll guess the ones with the bright red big combs are the boys. Looks someone at the hatchery got more than 10% sexed wrong with my flock. No big deal I just had a feeling they weren't all roos!