BelovedTom found dead last Friday

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by grinningranny, Oct 14, 2013.

1. grinningranny

grinningranny Out Of The Brooder

I am new to turkeys and all other country things. Anyway, we have four 5 month old hens and had 1 tom the same age, they're Narragansetts. The Tom has had kaki colored diarrhea off and on for several weeks, other than that he showed no other signs of illness...no ruffled feathers, maybe slightly low energy, no discoloration on his head or neck, he strutted and gobbled etc. They have a 1/2 acre fenced area with big rocks and trees that they share with 3 goats and 14 chickens that are very healthy. When I went in to feed them the morning of 10/11 he was laying on the ground dead under the roost. We cut him open to see if there was anything we could discern...His small and large intestines had thick sort of bloody pink/tan yucky stool, and his gizzard was hard and I would say impacted, and dryer than I would think a gizzard should be, but I don't know what a gizzard is supposed to look like. There were no lesions on his liver.

This was really upsetting for us because he was a friendly, comical, adored pet, and now he is gone...does anyone have any insight into what might have gone wrong? Some of the hens are showing intermittent diarrhea, now too. We can't stand the thought of losing any more

2. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General Premium Member

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    Sorry for your loss... Sounds like maybe necrotic enteritis and/or e. Coli. You didn't mention the liver or the cecal pouches, so I would say *not* blackhead. If you can, take one of the hens to a vet and have them take a peek at the poop under a scope and possibly send it off for cultures and sensitivities.

Not sure what the best antibiotic would be for this, but the vet will know. If I had to guess I would guess Clavamox or Baytril, but that is just a guess.

-Kathy

Last edited: Oct 15, 2013