Benefits of Getting Pullets Rather than Chicks - Need Some Advice!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by jessicagray, Oct 18, 2015.

1. jessicagray

jessicagray Out Of The Brooder

Sep 24, 2015
    Upstate SC
    Hi all!

I'm a beginner and was hoping to get some advice. I want to raise laying hens. I have the option of purchasing two pullets for $30 at 2 months old with the guarantee that the chickens sold to me are female. Or, should I risk it and get $3 chicks. I don't know what I would do with a rooster, I have no plans to breed.

Thank you for your advice!!

2. jk47

jk47 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2013
    CA
    If the person your buying from has a good reputation for selling good healthy pullets then go for it. You well save time and money
    But if you want the fun of chicks then buy sexlink chicks save the trouble of raising roosters either way

3. justplainbatty

justplainbatty Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 30, 2007
    emmet MI
    Welcome! I must say, the pepto pink chicken avitar is disturbing- but funny! Anyway, those are expensive pullets! The problem with just two is, that can easily become just one in a big hurry. It only takes one dog, coon, whatever. It is always better to have a trio and always awesome to have a rooster if permitted. Chicks only happen if you let fertilized eggs incubate. Roosters are great defenders, predator and trespasser alarms and "never fail" alarm clocks, no satellite or electric needed. I have lost some birds this year but still have 25, 5 are roosters. I can't imagine life without their voices every morning, just sayin'. [​IMG] ~JPB

4. jessicagray

Sep 24, 2015
    Upstate SC

Okay, so make sure to ask him questions like "How long have you been raising chickens?", etc? Make sure he's reputable and reliable. Thank you :)

5. jessicagray

Sep 24, 2015
    Upstate SC