best breeds for recurrent egg laying

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by 1/2DozenWings, Nov 24, 2009.

1. 1/2DozenWings

1/2DozenWings Out Of The Brooder

Oct 12, 2009
    Butler county
    HI,

I'm new to the backyard chicken world. I have only two EE hens I brought home from the local feed store that are both 20 months old now and going thru their 1st moult. In February, I plan to add to my 'flock' and get a few Ameraucanas, Brahmas, Orpingtons, Lakenvelders, Welsummers and Wyandottes. I read on this site, I think, that, once they go thru their 1st moult, egg production drops dramatically. I don't imagine that I will ever be able to turn any of them into soup once egg production drops, so which breeds in your combined experiences have the longest egg-laying utility?
    Yeah, btw, I picked these breeds for their egg colors.... And I'm going to get 2 roos: a BO and Cornelius (Welsummer)! I have plenty of room for them: acres of woods, pastures, barn, an established dust bathing area under the front porch of all places, gardens, & protective dogs and cats.

I refuse to buy the Chickens for Dummies book......against my religion

Thanks!

2. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    So far, my Barred rock takes the cake for egg laying. [​IMG]

Of the breeds you mentioned, I also have Easter Egger (sold as Ameraucana by hatchery), light brahma, Orpington and welsummer chicks. My Easter Egger is a very consistent layer, she hasn't slowed down much even with winter approaching. My light brahma is a sweety, and one of my favorites. My Orpington is sweet and has been a great layer, but she is slowing down right now. My welsummer's are still babies, but looking forward to those pretty eggs! I should add that I do not add light to keep them laying, I let them take a break.