Best coop & run location

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by papschmitty, Jan 15, 2011.

1. papschmitty

papschmitty Out Of The Brooder

Dec 21, 2010
    Let me preface this by saying I am totally new to chickens. We have kids playhouse that we'll be converting into a chicken coop, although I still stalk Craigslist for sheds that might work better. I'd like to get about 4 chickens, most likely Buff Orpingtons and/or Rhode Island Reds. We're trying to decided where to place the coop and run. Our lot is fairly big for our suburban setting (about 9/10 of an acre but it's kind of in a weird shape) located south of Seattle in the rainy Pacific Northwest. We're trying to decide between two possible choices...

#1 - In the backyard
    A small portion of the property is enclosed by a 6 ft cedar fence to be the back yard. There's a section in the back corner under an evergreen tree that's pretty neglected.

[​IMG]
    Don't mind all the mess. We're in the midst of redoing the deck. The new deck will extend out to about where the main pile of wood ends. The coop would be in the back corner and the run would probably be in most of the area without grass. Note the downward slope.

PROS
    It's close to the house in an enclosed area which I'm thinking would be easier for our 5 year old daughter to go collect eggs and tend to the chickens
    We spend a lot of time in the back yard so we'd be hanging with the chickens more
    The area would be shaded in the summer and gets some rain protection from the big tree for the rest of the year
    Our dog would likely guard the chickens when she's in the backyard (it's in her breed although I know that's no guarantee)
    The cedar fence would keep the coyotes out
    It would make good use of an area that is otherwise ignored

CONS
    It would take up *possibly usable* space in the backyard
    It's awfully close to the back deck and the house
    There's more limited space