best days to candle

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by farrier!, Apr 20, 2009.

1. farrier!

farrier! Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 28, 2009
    Southern Illinois
    I have read it but lost the posts. What days are the best to candle and where is the post(s) that showed so nicely what to look for?
    Thanks! (totally hooked on hatching)
    [​IMG]

2. mwdh1

mwdh1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2009
    Indiana
    Don't quote me on this, but I believe it is day 10 and day 17, but hopefully someone else will step in and verify that for you

3. farrier!

Feb 28, 2009
    Southern Illinois
    10!!![​IMG]

I have to wait... [​IMG]

4. panner123

panner123 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 15, 2007
    Garden Valley, ca
    Some say to candle on day 7 & 14. I have been incubating eggs for over 50 years and candle the day they go in the incubator and on day 18 when I stop turning them. If I have an egg the smells I will candle until I find the bad egg. Think of it this way, when I was incubating 5000 eggs at a time. How could I candle the eggs. Do you think at the companies that hatch eggs for large egg producing farm candle all those eggs? No when day 22 comes around they take the chicks out, clean the incubator and put more eggs in.

5. farrier!

Feb 28, 2009
    Southern Illinois
    [​IMG]

Yes.....but candling is fun.... [​IMG]

6. azelgin

azelgin Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 18, 2008
    S.E. AZ
    Quote:I like to use that timetable, too. By day 10, you can definatly tell what's going on and dump the clears. By 17, the quitters can usually be picked out. I still leave in the doubtful ones. Nothing's going to happen to them by day 22 (blow up), even if they are duds.

7. Majestic Lane Poultry

Majestic Lane Poultry Heart Strings Animal Rehoming

Feb 9, 2009