Best duck for my scenario

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by whattheduck, Mar 30, 2012.

1. whattheduck

whattheduck Out Of The Brooder

Mar 30, 2012
    Norfolk, VA
    I'm a newbie to this forum but have spent the past couple nights scouring the threads and reading up. This place is an awesome resource!

I have raised several mallard ducklings in my lifetime that have been separated from their mama or eggs incubated because the mama was killed. I have such fond memories! I was considering getting chickens for laying fresh eggs and through my research think ducks might be a better fit for me, mainly because of my fondness for them. With that being said I am trying to do my "homework" before making the big leap but still having a difficult time honing in on the right breed and how to find that breed near me if possible. The white layer, khaki, muscovy, and mallard are all breeds that appealed to me but for different reasons. I'm hoping someone can take a look at my information below and make some recommendations about a breed that might be best suited to me.

I live on 1/3 acre completely fenced in on the east coast in Norfolk, VA (fenced in except for the waterfront. I live on a very large tidal pond (or small lake). The water is slightly brackish and there are other wild ducks and geese that live in the neighborhood and swim on the pond.

I would like ducks that are for egg laying but that are also friendly. I have such fond memories of previous ducklings that have followed me around and enjoyed being with me.