Best goat for milk?

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by KelsiNS, Aug 29, 2013.

1. KelsiNS

KelsiNS Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 24, 2013
    Buna, TX
    In terms of milk production, what breed of goat should i look into for SE TX weather (hot and humid)?

Just milk-it will essentially be a pet. Also, a breed that does well with some confinement (1/4-1/2 acre), as i recall a friend that had goats that were terrible and constantly getting loose or injured trying to get loose-but they were almost wild.

I have some experience with goats, but not so much individual breeds as handling whatever breeds i was around.

2. aoxa

aoxa Overrun With Chickens

If a fence can't hold water, it can't hold a goat ;)

Unless it's electrified or super tall and sturdy - they most likely will get out. My goats do not go far. They have no fence at all right now.

I have Nubians. Nubians, Alpines and Saanens are very common milking goats. Each should give at least 1 gallon of milk a day.

http://www.motherearthnews.com/home...hoosing-a-dairy-goat-breed.aspx#axzz2dMd19hUJ
    Here is an article on the best milking goat breeds.

3. Erhard

Erhard New Egg

Sep 2, 2013
    Consider Oberhasli.
    Mine is gentle, easy to get along with, and stays in the fence after having been shown what her boundaries are. She gives very good mild flavored milk.

4. abbymckinn

abbymckinn Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 17, 2013
    San Antonio, TX
    I'm looking at getting some nigerian dwarfs, I have been doing research and they are a lot smaller so they require less feed/less space and they produce good milk. Not as much but if you alternate two does that would probably be enough.

5. aoxa

With small goats comes harder to contain goats.

6. abbymckinn

Aug 17, 2013
    San Antonio, TX
    That's true! We are going to build a really sturdy fence!

7. aoxa

:) My friend Nina raises them. They are cute little stinkers.