Best incubator for newbie???

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by awesomefowl, Jul 4, 2010.

1. awesomefowl

awesomefowl Argues with Goats

I want an incubator for my birthday; which model is the best one to get that holds up to 20 or can hold less eggs? (duck, chicken, etc.) I want to hatch some duck eggs first. Automatic turning would be nice, but I really would like turning them and don't mind. I do not want one I have to fiddle with, it should be easy for a complete newbie to use. :)
    Any recommendations here? Thank you! [​IMG]

2. taraann81

taraann81 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2009
    Ontario
    I like my hovabator genesis. Holds 42 eggs. Its basically plug in add eggs and water and let it work!

3. incubatingisfun

incubatingisfun Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 15, 2009
    Alaska
    i like the brinsea mini advance.and if you need too hold more than 7 eggs the mini eco also looks good

4. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers

Quote:Can you tell me (errrr, us, me and the OP and other incubation newbies) your experiences with the Brinsea Mini Advance? I purchased that incubator and have yet to use it. I keep reading all the anxiety and disappointment in these incubation/hatching threads and it makes me thing I DON'T want to do something with so much built-in failure. That's why I got the incubator I did, hoping it was pretty much idiot proof. (No offense to anyone - *I* am the idiot.)

How successful have you been with it??

5. incubatingisfun

Dec 15, 2009
    Alaska
    its great rock steady temp.super super easy to operate.i have not had any less than a 60% and just had a 100% hatch with it.the only complaint i have about is cleaning the top is hard,but way more ups than downs

6. crysmom

crysmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 24, 2007
    I would suggest the brinsea eco I have one and had a 12/14 hatch the thermometer it came with was spot on and the incubator held a solid temeprature really great hatch

7. incubatingisfun