best incubator for the money?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Dirty_South_Chickens, Sep 15, 2010.

1. Dirty_South_Chickens

Dirty_South_Chickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2010
    Waco, TX
    I will be a first time incubator and have kicked around building a DIY bator but would like to weigh my options on just spending alittle lettuce buying a good one. Any ideas...Thanks
  2. Chickie'sMoma

Chickie'sMoma Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2009
    Rochester, NH
    i'd buy a broody hen! if you can find one being sold right now! the only issue is you have to find a good one that will time her broodiness to the time you want to hatch!
  3. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers

Well, I'm a newbie to incubating and hatching, having completed two hatches thus far and have another 7 eggs are in the incubator now.

ANY Brinsea product, but if you only want to do small hatches, the Brinsea Mini Advance is WONDERFUL. I bought two more of them after I had a successful first hatch in the first. Go to and buy it there, using the "web sales" link. Currently $119.99.

Many other folks hatch more eggs at a time and are happy with the Brinsea Octagon 20 versions. (I'm considering getting one to add to my collection so I can hatch smaller batches AND a larger number of eggs with different dates....)

FOOL-PROOF. Easy, digital controls. Pretty much plug and play operation!
  4. 9 Feathers Farm

9 Feathers Farm Out Of The Brooder

Aug 30, 2010
    St Johns, MI
    I have a Brinsea Octo 20 ECO and it works great. I got the auto turner as well and altoget in cost about $150 plus S&H. There customer service is great as well. If you are thinking about doing the DIY incubator search some of the post on here. I know some people have had wonderful results, and it is probly much cheaper. Good luck.
  5. Dirty_South_Chickens

Dirty_South_Chickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2010
    Waco, TX