Best Product For Mites And Lice????

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by aShMaNv, Jun 27, 2011.

1. aShMaNv

aShMaNv Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2010
    Choctaw, OK
    Hello. I am still fairly new to chickens and have recently noticed that I have a mite problem. I have heard of so many products used with mixed reviews. I sell and eat all the eggs my chickens lay so I need something that is safe, but these mites have to go now, so I also need something that is very, very effective. I have heard of something that is supposed to be natural called Poultry Protector. Then I have heard a lot about the Sevin Dust. Is the Sevin Dust safe?? I just need to know the best product for QUICKLY and EFFECTIVELY taking care of my mite problem.

2. Desert Rooster

Desert Rooster El Gallo Del Desierto

Sep 4, 2010
    Hesperia, Ca
    i dust with Permethrin, and it works pretty good

3. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
  4. Lollipop

Lollipop Chillin' With My Peeps

I`ve used Sevin all my life. Sevin is safe, even for hens with chicks. A product that is excellent for infestations is Adams Flea and Tick Dip. It is mixed as it says on the label in a 5 gal. bucket and you dip each bird up to the top of the neck. You can smell it on them for about a month (not objectional), so there is no need to re treat in 10 days as with most products. It also contains permethrin, so poultry dust may work almost as good. The good thing about the dip is that it can be sprayed over the whole coop, roosts, nests, run, and all. Eggs should be washed, but can be safely eaten. Many people use DE and claim good results, but I have found it to be totally useless in poultry applications. So there, the observations of an old man. Have fun..........Pop

5. aShMaNv

aShMaNv Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2010
    Choctaw, OK