1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Best time to buy chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by mrstillery09, Feb 9, 2012.

1. mrstillery09

mrstillery09 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 9, 2012
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Hey everyone! I'm new to BYC. Been a lurker for awhile and decided I needed to go ahead and just join! I live on an 80 acre farm in Kansas City, Missouri. We have some cows, and I'm ready to take the plunge into chickens as well. I was just curious if there were any guidelines as to when is the best time to get chicks? I plan to order them, hopefully from a hatchery somewhere close by. Should I wait until it's a fairly reasonable temperature outside, or is anytime ok? Thanks for your input!

2. nurse_turtle

nurse_turtle Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2011
    Foothills of NC
    If you want eggs before fall, buy now. Check locally for chicks and you can save a lot instead of ordering from a hatchery. If you buy now, you'll have to house the chicks in a brooder for several weeks and transplant outside into a warmed area and then next year, they can acclimate to the winter and be able to be cooped without heat.

3. berniezahm

berniezahm Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 24, 2008
    If you have a brooder to keep chicks in and some place to keep them inside out of the weather, just about any time is a good time. You will find that many hatcheries are already sold out till late spring or even longer for the more popular breeds. I read a post here on BYC from a lady in Kenya, Alaska receiving chicks through the (USPS) the mail about two weeks ago. Enjoy your chicks. [​IMG]

4. berniezahm

berniezahm Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 24, 2008