Best time to get/raise chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by dirtroaddarlin, Jul 12, 2019 at 3:57 PM.

1. dirtroaddarlin

dirtroaddarlin Chirping

Mar 28, 2018
    Hey all. I have 7 hens, 2 are broody. I don’t have any roosters. Where I live, it’s 90* daily, and pretty humid. Would now be a good time to get several chicks, since I have 2 broody hens? I’m new to this and need some advice from more experienced chicken keepers!

2. Fishsticks06

Fishsticks06 Chirping

Jun 1, 2019
    Western North Carolina.
    I don’t think introducing baby chicks to a hen (even if broody) is smart. Especially since the chicks aren’t theirs, they could kill them. I’d you want to raise chicks now, sure. Weather seems decent and they won’t freeze to death.

dirtroaddarlin likes this.
  3. ocap

ocap Crowing

Jan 1, 2013
    Smithville, Missouri
    I put a chick under a broody hen, it was near her 21st day of broodiness, she "thought" it was time to hatch. Put them under her after dark. If your hen has tried to hatch infertile eggs for 21 days she might be fooled into accepting the chicks.

Helloworld likes this.
  4. rosemarythyme

rosemarythyme Crowing

Jul 3, 2016
    Pac NW
    My Coop
    The best time to get chicks is when you have the time to raise them, just in case neither broody accepts them and you end up having to brood the chicks yourself.

dirtroaddarlin and Chris-n-Kate like this.
  5. dirtroaddarlin

dirtroaddarlin Chirping

Mar 28, 2018
    That’s what my plan was. Slip 2 chicks under each hen. I know my black sexlink has been broody for at least a week, if not more. My barred rock has been broody the last several days.

6. dirtroaddarlin

dirtroaddarlin Chirping

Mar 28, 2018