Best water fount/amount for new ducklings?

Sunny Side Up

Count your many blessings...
11 Years
Mar 12, 2008
Loxahatchee, Florida
Hooray hooray, my new Khaki Campbell ducklings arrived at our post office this morning! Ten healthy fuzzy brown babies from McMurray Hatchery.

This is my first time keeping ducks, so I'm sure I'll be returning frequently with additional questions.

Right now they're in a Rubbermaid bin on straw over newspaper. Having Purina Flock Raiser to eat. My question is about their water requirements.

I first gave them sugar water in a little bowl and they took to it like...well, like ducks to water! I dipped their bills in it to get them started and they soon had themselves a little party stepping in & out of the bowl, dabbling & drinking.

Next I found the quart water fount and replaced the bowl with that. They're still drinking & dabbling out of that, and making a wet mess on the straw around it. Some are even trying to get their feet in it.

Should I use the more narrow-rimmed dish on this fount, the type called a "quail" waterer? Or do they need the extra room to immerse their bills?

Is there a good tip to keep the area around the waterer cleaner & drier?

Must they have access to water 24/7? I've noticed at our local feed store that they don't always keep their ducks' fount filled, no doubt to keep their cages cleaner. If I limit their water, what is the minimum required?

Thank you for your advice! We are so happy with our new birdy babies.

Be careful because baby ducklings can drown themselves.

When you get them you are supposed to let them have water for 15 min, and then take the water away for an hour. And do that the first day, so they dont drown themselves by drinking too much water.

Should I use the more narrow-rimmed dish on this fount, the type called a "quail" waterer? Or do they need the extra room to immerse their bills?