Best way to get chicks naturally

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by rowemc, Jul 19, 2010.

1. rowemc

rowemc New Egg

Mar 30, 2009
    I am a beginner with raising chicks. I bought my first two groups from the feed store and ended up with one beautiful rooster. I don't want to get rid of it so I though I'd let try and let nature takes it's course to get some chicks. Anyone know the best way to go about it? For instance, time of year, keeping the rooster separated for non-fertilized eggs to eat. Stuff like that.

2. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    Spring is the best time for hatching out chicks. However, you need to have a breed of chicken that goes broody, and at least one individual hen who exhibits that characteristic. Many breeds of chicken have had that instinct to brood bred right out of them, because if you want a chicken for egg laying, you don't want them going broody (no eggs during that whole period of broodiness).

What breed of chickens do you have?

Oh, and by the way, there's no reason to separate the rooster from the hens. Fertilized eggs taste just the same as nonfertilized eggs; you really can't tell the difference. Just collect eggs daily for eating. Fertilized eggs do not begin to develop until and unless a hen starts sitting on them continuously (or they are placed in an artificial incubator).

Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
  3. Nostalchic

Nostalchic Chillin' With My Peeps