Best way to increase flock size the fastest. Need advice.

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by GuamChicken, Jan 28, 2015.

1. GuamChicken

GuamChicken Out Of The Brooder

May 14, 2014
    Hello, I have a particular situation that I need advice on that I have been thinking about for awhile. . I am relatively new to the chicken community, not much experience, but some. I did manage to hatch and raise 3 Buff Orpington's to maturity. I have a nice coop for them etc. Unfortunately..... 2 of the 3 Orp's are roosters, and the hen is actively laying. I want a larger, maybe 15 bird flock of BO's. The 3 get along great. What would be the best way to do this. Collect the eggs and incubate, but that would take probably 20 days to get 14 eggs. Let the hen try and go broody, I never tried this. Not sure how well that would work unless I completely removed the roosters, but with 3 birds ?? I was thinking of maybe only incubating 5-7 eggs , just to get going, but then I'm thinking with the staggered brooders it will be too much a problem with integrating them in small batches. I don't have the means to have 3-4 grow out pens etc. One last side note, due to my location, it's virtually impossible to get BO fertilized eggs, or that would be my easy answer, so everything is riding on my one hen. All advice is appreciated. Thanks.

2. aart

aart Chicken Juggler! Premium Member

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop
    You can't 'make' a hen go broody, she either will or she won't.

I assume you can't just go buy 15 BO pullet chicks?

Are you sure the eggs are fertile?

Do you have an incubator?
    If you do have an incubator, your best bet is to collect fertile eggs for 7-10 days, keep them in a cool place(50-60F) and set them in the incubator to hatch. Older than 7-10 days would be stretching their chances if viability too far.