Best Winter Chicken Foods

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by leasmom, Oct 26, 2008.

1. leasmom

leasmom Chillin' With My Peeps

May 25, 2008
    I have had chickens now since May so this is my first year entering winter...I have both a hen and 6 pullets and 8 chicks that are two months old or so. I try to feed them as naturally as possible. They are cooped birds but I give them grass, weeds, cabbages, corn, lettuce, etc. as well as their feed mixed with scratch feed, bird seed, both whole and regular oats, dried corn etc. in the scratch and bird seed. I wanted to know...what do you feed your chickens during the winter...

2. ibpboo

ibpboo Where Chickens Ride Horses

Jul 9, 2007
    always changing
    Sounds like you are doing a good job feeding them already.

3. cmom

cmom Hilltop Farm

Nov 18, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop
    Where do you live and how cold does it get there? I think you're doing just fine.

4. the simple life

the simple life Chillin' With My Peeps

It sounds like you are already doing great job.
    I live in New England and we get very cold winters here.
    I give some scratch or cracked corn to help keep them warm. Cracked corn is in scratch as well as sold seperately.
    I give them hot mash on those cold mornings as well as sometimes before they go into the coop at night to help keep them warm.
    The cracked corn raises their body temperatures and works well in winter, you should not give it in the warmer weather though.
    Also, this should only comprise like 10 percent of their diet, you don't want it to take the place of their layer feed that contains all their vitamins and minerals.
    To give them hot mash, you mix layer crumbles and any of these things you have laying around,
    the crumbles, cracked corn, scratch,oats etc. and pour very hot water over it and stir.
    It makes a nice hot mash which in itself is comforting and the corn helps their body temps. and they are still getting their layer food.