Beware of Numbered Leg Clips/Bands !

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by FarmLady323, Nov 4, 2016.

1. FarmLady323

FarmLady323 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 18, 2016
    Just a note to let people know that yesterday I put a leg band (the hard plastic clip kind) on one of my hens and this morning she was on her side in pain and couldn't walk.
    I thought she had broken her leg somehow. Then I noticed that her leg band was missing.
    I evaluated her leg for injuries and found that the leg band had gone up to her thigh area and was pinching her terribly.
    As soon as I took it off she acted like nothing had ever happened (after she snuggled to me, thanking me :)

I just never thought that would happen and wanted to let others know.

Cheers,
    Susan

2. azygous

azygous True BYC Addict

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    This is why I stopped trying to use leg bands. I've had some scary experiences also, namely, not noticing when a band got too small and cut off circulation, and also had one slip down and wrap around the toes on a baby chick.

Now I just use magic markers or nail polish, reapplying every so often as needed.

So glad you noticed what was happening and successfully rescued your girl!

3. FarmLady323

Mar 18, 2016
    OMGosh !!!

Wow...who knew.
    Thanks for your feedback and further info.
    I'll start using the alternative methods you mentioned.

I was very relieved that I could help her and that she wasn't injured.

Thanks Friend !
    Susan

4. Folly's place

Folly's place Chicken Obsessed

Sep 13, 2011
    southern Michigan