1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Big Fat Female Pekin

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by DucklingLovee, Mar 2, 2015.

1. DucklingLovee

DucklingLovee Out Of The Brooder

Mar 11, 2014
    Klamath Falls, OR.
    So my female Pekin finally just started to lay, she's about a year old. I have a male Runner and he's tried to mate with her a few times but the problem is she's twice the size of him and he's having some trouble lol. I've seen him try to mount her and then he kinda just sits on her back and doesn't seem like he knows what to do. So this might be an idiotic question but, do you guys think I'll have any fertile eggs? I'm a very novice duck mommy and I pretty much have questions about everything, so I'm sorry if I sound stupid lol. I've been incubating a few of them and am going to candle them in a few days, so I'm just curious to see if it's even worth it.

2. buff goose guy

buff goose guy Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 9, 2014
    Mississippi Y'all
    you could have eggs fertile eggs if they breed in water (like about 4 ft deep) that water the male can position himself better on the female.

3. DucklingLovee

Mar 11, 2014
    Klamath Falls, OR.
    They have a kiddie pool, that's about the only place I've seen him try but it's definitely not four feet deep. I'm going to get a bigger one for them soon so maybe that will help.

4. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey