Big Scary RATS!!!

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by ladybug99, Nov 4, 2010.

1. ladybug99

ladybug99 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2010
    Monroe New Jersey
    I am new to this chicken raising thing.. my coop is an old metal refrigeration trailor.. the girls have an enclosed covered run.. we have about three inches of bluestone all around the run and around the coop... we have a chicken door that leads out to the run and a heavy metal door that leads into the coop....we have a nice little area where we keep the food and other goodies and another cage for the girls with nesting boxes.

The other day while cleaning up the coop I noticed the cutest little paw prints on the top of my galvinized garbage cans that we keep the feed in.. never thought much about them I figured they were chickmunks trying to get the feed during the day.... well boy was I wrong... I was running late tonight and it was just after sundown when I got up to the coop I flashed the light into the chicken yard and scared away 4 of the hugest rats I have ever seen... two went under the coop and who know where the other two went... I just shuttered because the chicken door was open and I thought maybe they ran.

So far they haven't gotton into the food or the caged area but I am sure it won't take them long to figure out to go up the chicken walk into the coop. I really don't mind the little buggers but I am afraid they will carry diseases. It was to dark to see if there were actual holes underthe coop.... but my first thought was to throw some poison pellets down them.... then my DH tells me we will just put out a have a heart trap and drown the little buggers... any other suggestions???

2. Kyhen

Kyhen Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 29, 2010
    Hart Co., Ky
    I would do both. If you saw four, there are probably a lot more. They do carry disease and will kill your chickens. Good luck! I hate Rats![​IMG] I have to stay vigilant here to keep the rat population down.

3. Jferlisi