Big wound

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Hijinxer, Dec 30, 2014.

1. Hijinxer

Hijinxer New Egg

Jul 1, 2014
    this is my first time with chickens. I came home to this. Any advice on what I can do is appreciated.
    [​IMG]

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Looks like a predator may have gotten hold of your chicken, any dogs running loose of course your chicken would probably be dead if a predator got hold of it maybe she got caught in something. Where did you find her? To treat her wound wash it real good in some soapy warm water then you can use tripe antibiotic or Neosporin nothing with pain relief in it. keep her away for the flock while she has an open wound they will be drawn to it like flies. once it starts to heal get some Blue Kote and spray it real good this stuff will disguise the wound and help it heal. if you live in a warm climate you need to keep her where flies can't get to the wound. Chickens are pretty tough and I think she'll heal fine if you follow these instructions. She maybe in shock right now though so make sure to keep her in a quiet warm place for at least first 24 hrs. you can put some water with electrolytes in it and offer food although she may not want to eat for a while.

Last edited: Dec 30, 2014
  3. Hijinxer

Hijinxer New Egg

Jul 1, 2014