1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Birdie Bedtime

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Roy Rooster, Jun 5, 2011.

1. Roy Rooster

Roy Rooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2010
    Tennesee Smoky Mts.
    Hi [​IMG]

I am new to chickens and doing this for the first time.

I have 16 BO that I put out side for the first time last week, they are now 5 wks old. [​IMG]

I have been putting them to bed every night for the past week now.

I was wondering does anyone have an idea when I can expect them to
    put themselves to bed? Just wondering. [​IMG]

Also, is there anything that I can to do encourage them to "get it"
    and start putting them selves to bed in the evening?? [​IMG]

Thanks

2. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    Our 7 week old Orpington get on their roost in the grower coop long before the hens go to their coop. Is it that your girls stay out untill after dark so you have to put them inside physically? If so they will no doubt "get it" and roost on their own in the next week. Maybe you don't have enough roost space for them all or it's not low enough for them to hop onto yet.

3. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    Yep, depends on what you mean by "to bed." They are pretty young to have caught onto roosting; mine have always started doing this on their own but sometimes not til 3 or 4 months. If they go in the coop, and mine always have, I let them sleep where they want when they're young.

4. cuntryuppiechick

cuntryuppiechick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2011
    Mine get into their spots around 7:30 or 8pm. Then I go out at 8:30 or 9pm and put them to bed. Basically they are ready an hour or so before dark.

5. Roy Rooster

Jun 9, 2010
    Tennesee Smoky Mts.