Birds of prey

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by HenryG, Jan 11, 2014.

1. HenryG

HenryG Out Of The Brooder

Jan 10, 2014
    Has anyone tried reflective tape to deter hawks? It is commonly used in vineyards, and I have had luck with it in deterring deer from my garden. I have been thinking of trying it in an expanded area that is too big for a netting roof.

I am new to this and haven't lost a chicken to a hawk yet, but I can see them looking.

2. foamyownsyou

foamyownsyou Out Of The Brooder

Jan 11, 2014
    Ramona,California
    I being a licensed falconer in the state of California own a red tail any raptor if given the opportunity will go after a chicken or other bird you are keeping but the best way to solve that is not to take matters into your own hands and shoot the bird because you can be fined up to $25000 and spend 5 years in jail and its just plain messed up so the best way to deter raptors it's to put a cover over your chicken pens

1 person likes this.
  3. HenryG

HenryG Out Of The Brooder

Jan 10, 2014
    You have a beautiful bird...Does it shy away from reflective objects or will it ignore them?

4. cgmccary

cgmccary Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 14, 2007
    NE Alabama
    Agree with you. The only sure way is to cover them. Also, leave the hawks' natural prey around your place. The hawk is simply hungry and sees an easy meal. Many times, it is juvenile, hungry hawks who don't know how to hunt well -- your chickens look easy to them.