Black Bears

ephraim-em

Hatching
8 Years
Mar 31, 2011
OK...I am a total newbie here. We are in the process of finishing our remodeled playhouse/coop and have 12 chicks to house. So, does anyone know if bears are predators to chickens? We have a black bear that has taken to roaming the neighborhood and do not yet have a run for our girls. We intend to put an electric fence around the perimeter of the run for any stray dogs etc. because we do not live in a fenced yard sort neighborhood and we do have occasional dogs roaming. Bears are common here and have free range but tend mostly top rob untended garbage cans. So, anyone here ever have to deal with bears?? We are wondering how aggressive they might be toward the chicks/chickens.

Heck yes, we had it happen in our county just the other day in a residential neighborhood.

OK...question answered. Yikes...guess that electric fence will be getting some good uses. Wish a shotgun were allowed but....grrrrr! Oh right, that is what the bear is supposed to say! Thanks for feedback.
hmm.png

I think people have written that bears go right thru the electric fence - because their thick fur insulates them. It would probably just tick them off and make them madder. They have reported bears tearing off the sides of steel storage sheds etc. I would just pick up and move to a bear free area - I wouldn't want to confront them.

Quote: