Black Copper Maran Hatching Help Needed

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by laceyyates, Sep 9, 2016.

1. laceyyates

laceyyates Out Of The Brooder

Sep 9, 2016
    This is my first time hatching (I know - probably the wrong breed for a newbie - but go big or go home is my motto[​IMG])

I did my research before putting these bad boys in the bator.

I put my shipped eggs (only 4 made it to the bator as 2 arrived broke and only 6 were ordered) in the incubator set at 100.1 degrees on the dry hatch method. My calibration thermometer/humidity checker came halfway threw hatch. I checked and the bator seemed right on. I took thermometer out. Tried it about 5 days later and the temp was off and showed 98 degrees!!! I fiddled with the temp, and left the thermometer inside the digital incubator - both showed temp was right on from then on. Then on day 17, I went into lockdown (with only 3 eggs as I had to throw one rotten one out on day 12). I have kept the humidity at the 75% mark give or take a tiny bit since lockdown.

It's now day 22 and there is no hatching happening. No action at all. It doesn't smell in the bator (I will admit, I lifted the lid, I'm getting ansy [​IMG]) so that must mean that they are all good? Candling the eggs got me no where as everything is to dark to REALLY see in. I can see dark masses, but that's about it.

Question is: how long do I leave eggs in there before I give up hope? Did the "oops" in temperature flux mess with them? Will it take longer for them to hatch due to the lower temp for the few days?

Next up are Cream Legbars that just arrived today (15 eggs). Will let them rest 24 hours and hoping to start them in the incubator tomorrow? If the black coppers cooperate that is?

2. Carpenter

Carpenter Out Of The Brooder

Aug 21, 2013
    This is the hardest part of incubating. Patience. Just let them hatch when they are ready. You have waited this long, what's another day or two!:)

3. JoshFig