Black Copper Marans - How difficult are they to raise.

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Litewings, Dec 1, 2008.

1. Litewings

Litewings Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 25, 2008
    Summerfield, NC
    I'm thinking of raising Black Copper Marans for their dark eggs. Are they any more difficult than other breeds? Also does anyone know of a good Marans breeder in NC?

[​IMG]

Litewings

Last edited: Dec 1, 2008
  2. tcbfan5

tcbfan5 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2008
    Kansas
    I would actually like to know also if they are any harder to breed & raise. My husband wants them also. We've thought/talked about getting them.

3. mothergoose1963

mothergoose1963 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2008
    Midwest
    I'm no expert on them--but I started raising some a year ago. I hatched most of mine and bought a few beautiful birds, too. The hard part is finding honest sellers--in my opinion. I learned that the hard way and some of my most expensive birds went into my freezer! [​IMG] I had to start over and did my research this time. Since the price on these is so high, some people are selling and crossing whatever they can to make a quick buck. I'm not saying you need show quality birds--but people ought to at least honestly represent what they have.

Hatching went fine for me. I even tried that dry hatching method and it worked great. They have acted no different than any of my other chickens, either. I am sure there are otherw with more experience in these birds than I, but I enjoy them and think they are easy to keep and raise. Hope that helps. [​IMG]

4. tcbfan5

tcbfan5 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2008
    Kansas
    Thanks. That's kind of what i was thinking. In order to get nice dark eggs, you need good birds to start with. And i know they are a bit on the more expensive side, so the honesty of the breeder, & pictures of their Black Copper Marans will be key. But you did say