Black Jersey Giant or Black Australorp - What are these?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by jt673, Sep 13, 2010.

1. jt673

jt673 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 26, 2010
    Considered getting a pair from these folks and wanted to make sure these are actually Black Australorps before doing so or I will keep looking for some. They seem on the slim side for BA's, but I am not an expert and value the opinions of others on here!

Are these BA's?

Are these Jersey Giants?

Thanks!!

Last edited: Sep 13, 2010
  2. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    Look like Black Australorps to me. Jersey Giants are slightly rare - BA's are VERY common. Also, BA's are naturally a lot more slim than Giants. JG's are VERY big birds. [​IMG]

3. jt673

jt673 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 26, 2010
    Quote:THanks, I was thinking BA's have heavier plumage and I have not seen these in person yet, only pictures. This looks like a good flock then?

4. Yazzo

Yazzo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 23, 2010
    The rooster at least looks very much like a Jersey Giant to me. They aren't THAT rare. Australorp roosters tend to be much more wide and stout, although smaller. Also, they seem to have a very slight dusty greyish-blue color to them: a characteristic of Jersey Giants. The hens to, seem to be a bit 'long' for Australorps, and have a different kind of face.

It's hard to tell.....if there was I size comparison, it would be easier, but I would say probably at least the rooster is a Jersey Giant. Could be Australorps though. Good flock! [​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 13, 2010
  5. boogiedog

boogiedog Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2010
    Oakland hills, CA
    I have both; the JGs have yellow on the bottom of their feet.

6. Yazzo

Jul 23, 2010
    Quote:That's not a very accurate indicator, since some Australorp too have yellow on their feet.

7. Muggsmagee

Muggsmagee Menagerie Mama

Dec 15, 2009
    Central NY