1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Black sex link? Maybe some Australorp? Hen? or rooster...

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Over Easy PA, Aug 31, 2011.

1. Over Easy PA

Over Easy PA Out Of The Brooder

Jul 8, 2011
    I'm totally new to this, but having a great time! I have 10 chickens -- all are supposed to be sex link hens (7 black and 3 red), but there are a couple of the black ones I'm getting curious about! Both are really beautiful with their golden "hoods". Wondering if they are part Australorp? What would the other part be? And most important -- Are they roosters??? Their tail feathers seem different from my other ones -- more curved. But they don't have more developed combs than the others and they don't make any noise that is different. Here are photos of one of them. THe other one is virtually her (?) twin. Thanks for your help! CAROLINE

I'm asking about the one on the left --
    [​IMG]

Here's a good shot of the comb --
    [​IMG]

Standing side views --
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. ChickenPeep

ChickenPeep Faith & Feathers

May 1, 2011
    Olathe, Kansas
    BSL is my guess!

3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    That is a black sex link pullet.

There are many ways to make black sex links. One very common way is a Rhode Island Red rooster over a Barred Rock hen. With her yellow legs, I think that is a real possibility with her.

4. ChicKat

ChicKat Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

beautiful birds. I vote BSL..... once their combs and wattles develop and redden, eggs will be next. (lots of them)

5. Over Easy PA

Over Easy PA Out Of The Brooder

Jul 8, 2011